Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Scotland

Not a four star

Posted 20/10/2014
I stayed in an "executive room"for two nights which I booked nearly a year ago(advance booked a showshow for wife's birthday).I moved room because of the noise from the road,unfortunately the room we were moved to was worse than the first one,the windows wouldn't close so they came up and shut them with cable ties(obviously not a new issue as there were six old cable ties in room). The ties on windows didn't cut down noise so they offered ear plugs;I would have thought paint £114 a night the least we could have expected was a nights sleep. I asked for a top floor room and was told those rooms were more expensive, so apparently if we want a room to sleep in we have to pay more. I brought my gym bag with me and went to find pool and gym unfortunately the gym was about two miles away in their other hotel at Charring cross but was welcome to use it. I have stayed in Hilton hotels many times including the one in Charring Cross(last one was in America September)and never had problems,this experience has made me re-evaluate my opinion of Hilton chain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Quality West End Stay

Posted 15/10/2014
Cons: The single glazed windows in my room meant that the noise from the steet carried quite clearly into my room. Also the doors in the hotel bang closed.
Location: The Hotel is well located for all the nearby attractions and The West End is a lovely area. Ashton Lane's Ubiquitous Chip eatery is worth a visit.
I stayed at the hotel for two nights whilst visiting family in Glasgow. The staff were warm and friendly on arrival and the room, although quite small, had everything needed for a short stay. The window was open and so the room was fresh but quite cool for my arrival on an October evening. We had dinner in Bovine on the first night and the food was super although the portion size is a tad short of generous. The waiting staff were cheery and very efficient. My second nights sleep was interrupted by some revelers playing rounders on Byres Road at 3am and if my hotel windows had been double glazed, then perhaps it would not have disturbed me as it did. The only real disappointment was the breakfast, also served in Bovine. The food was not piping hot and generally not the quality expected from a Hitlon hotel, in particular the black pudding and sausage were bland and uninteresting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Northern Ireland

Great location and very helpful staff.

Posted 14/10/2014
Pros: The staff are delightful. Helpful and very friendly. Made us feel very welcome. Great breakfast. Location good. Room big and comfy. Quiet.
Cons: WiFi signal dismal. Hefty charge for better signal in room.
Location: See above.
Stayed 2 nights. Upgraded to superior room as husband not very well and needed extra space. Normal rooms have only one double bed - no twin beds. Room great and location just what we needed to visit relatives near University. Surrounding area good for cafes, restaurants and shops. Botanic Gardens just across the road. Had a really great trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Glasgow

Lovely city hotel with friendly staff

Posted 02/10/2014
My husband and myself stayed here for our wedding night and it was very relaxing. Staff were friendly especially the reception staff. The Room was very clean and spacious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Utah, USA

Not worth it.

Posted 02/10/2014
After a full day at work plus 18 hours of flying, I was especially bothered that the hot water in the shower only worked for about a minute and a half and then went cold. The electric kettle tray was hidden away in a drawer and everything on it had to be carefully set aside in order to remove the tray from the drawer. The WiFi was £14.99 and breakfast was not included. The good things about this hotel were the friendly staff and the bar, even when the waitress brought us the wrong drinks, spilled one on the table, and messed up the bill. It must have been an off night. We spent the following two nights at the Holiday Inn Express Theatreland, which was every bit as clean and comfortable, had friendly staff and working hot water, was closer to the city centre, the WiFi and breakfast were included, and was half the price to boot. The furniture wasn't as pretty, but it was much better value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from southampton

nice hotel. good location

Posted 25/09/2014
only gripe was the lack of air conditioning. Although there was a fan provided so not too bad. Restaurant Bo-vine served excellent food and drinks not too expensive. Breakfast good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Excellent Hotel.

Posted 24/09/2014
We recently spent one night at this fantastic hotel,from the moment we checked the staff were pleasant and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Lovely staff

Posted 19/08/2014
Pros: Staff helpful and friendly
Location: The Ubiquitous Chip Restaurant excellent. Kelvingrove Gallery worth a visit.
The first room offered was by the lifts but the staff were very helpful in finding us somewhere quieter. Overall I would rate the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff we met as very good. Room average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Aberdeen

Great hotel, great location, great staff

Posted 15/08/2014
Perfect location for Glasgow's fashionable West end. Lovely decor and rooms . Staff superb, very welcoming, even to our little dog. Sent a surprise 'good luck' cake to my son who was competing in a tennis tournament..it was decorated with tennis rackets! I left some expensive jewellery behind when I checked out and the wonderful housekeeping team returned it special delivery to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Australia

Nice hotel close to shops & restaurants

Posted 05/08/2014
Stayed a week during Commonwealth Games. Although very busy the staff were always friendly & helpful. The room was adequate with in-room safe. The room & bathroom were clean. Plenty of hot water. The rooms did not have air conditioner but fan was available. The windows opened but as the room faced a busy road it was too noisy to have them left open. Quick check-in & Check-out. Room service was quick with food hot & well presented. Hotel close to University, restaurants & shops.