Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Lovely staff

Posted 19/08/2014
Pros: Staff helpful and friendly
Location: The Ubiquitous Chip Restaurant excellent. Kelvingrove Gallery worth a visit.
The first room offered was by the lifts but the staff were very helpful in finding us somewhere quieter. Overall I would rate the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff we met as very good. Room average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Aberdeen

Great hotel, great location, great staff

Posted 15/08/2014
Perfect location for Glasgow's fashionable West end. Lovely decor and rooms . Staff superb, very welcoming, even to our little dog. Sent a surprise 'good luck' cake to my son who was competing in a tennis tournament..it was decorated with tennis rackets! I left some expensive jewellery behind when I checked out and the wonderful housekeeping team returned it special delivery to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Australia

Nice hotel close to shops & restaurants

Posted 05/08/2014
Stayed a week during Commonwealth Games. Although very busy the staff were always friendly & helpful. The room was adequate with in-room safe. The room & bathroom were clean. Plenty of hot water. The rooms did not have air conditioner but fan was available. The windows opened but as the room faced a busy road it was too noisy to have them left open. Quick check-in & Check-out. Room service was quick with food hot & well presented. Hotel close to University, restaurants & shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from South Carolina

This is a Hilton?

Posted 04/08/2014
Pros: Room itself was fine, but to cool it we needed the windows open. One of the latches to the windows was broken and we overlooked a busy road.
Cons: Service.
In signage only ... Service and interest in the traveler non-existent. Very little help, no valet, no taxi line ... I'm glad it was a short stay. I can't help but think that because we booked on Expedia, they conveniently (!) saved the room by the elevator for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Berkshire, England

Great hotel, shame about the room doors slamming !

Posted 07/07/2014
Pros: Locality to where I was meeting friends (on Byres Road)
Cons: What really puts me off going back and it may seem trivial to some people. The room doors do not have a assisted closing mechanism and the SLAM shut.
Location: Fantastic for visits to Botanical Garden and anything on or around Byres Rd, which has great pubs and loads of restaurants.
Stayed at this hotel for a quick overnight stay. I normally use the local Guest Houses etc along Great Western Rd next to the top of Byres Rd. Thought I'd treat myself with a upgrade this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by francis from fife, Scotland

40 years on

Posted 01/07/2014
Pros: Fantastic staff. great service. Super location. Great breakfast buffet.
Cons: The Glazing in the room windows needs to be upgraded to reduce the traffic noise.
Location: Oran Mor is a superb theatre plus bar/restaurant directly across the street from the hotel - always something going on there. Byers road is great.
we stayed in the hotel as part of our 40th wedding anniversary celebrations - we got engaged in the hotel 40 plus years ago. We received a warm Glasgow welcome from Jennifer and the team on reception. We arrived a bit early and went to the bar for a refreshment. Megan in the bar again gave us the warmest of welcomes, taking photos of us posing in the open bar front looking on to the busy Byers Road. The atmosphere was so good we stayed for lunch, which was well presented. The weather was more Barcelona than Byers road - fantastic. We left the bar area and headed back to reception and before we reached the desk our bags were brought out from the luggage store - very professional. Flowers had been delivered to our room, surprise for my wife, and Jennifer and the team were clearly pleased to be in on the act. Later in the day an anniversary plate holding two upmarket cup cakes was delivered to the room - hotel staff idea not mine. This was a very nice gesture. Can't promise the same weather as we enjoyed, but you can be assured of the warmest of welcomes from a friendly and professional Grosvenor team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Noodles from Belfast

Nice hotel very handy to Oran Mor and West End

Posted 25/06/2014
Pros: convenience, friendliness of staff, lovely reception area, nice food and bar, comfy bed
Cons: air conditioning in rooms - also room was quite small
stayed at the grosvenor as was attending a gig in Oran Mor - was delighted it was just across the road
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Madge from CAITHNESS

Fantastic stay

Posted 26/05/2014
Pros: The interior design and furnishings
Cons: Nothing everything tip top
Location: Shopping, walking, sight seeing and of course the Botanic Gardens are just across the street
Booked for room only as B&B was to expensive. however that was our choice to have room only and stay in a wonderful hotel and eat out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Manchester

Convenient location.

Posted 26/05/2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Real milk!
Location: Straightforward
Had everything we needed - staff all friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Wheatley from Oxon

Not town centre but still great location

Posted 13/05/2014 on Hotels.com
Don't be afraid of staying out of town as the underground is five mins away and whips you into town in minutes, but the west end is literally on your doorstep and has everything you'll need. No complaints with hotel at all, although we didn't eat there (other than breakfast which was good quality & value) so can't rate restaurants. Bar did a lovely cocktail though!