Ratings based on 849 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 07/06/2019
Fabulous location, spotless rooms, if your room is at the rear of the property outside evening noise is minmal
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 06/06/2019
You walk straight out of the hotel into the heart of Oxford. A fantastic location. Our first night was extremely hot but we found a fan in the cubboard. It was an unusally hot day/night for Oxford. The following nights were good temperatures. Nice to be able to make a cup of coffee each morning. Staff friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 16/05/2019
Wonderful location in centre of town and staff were lovely. will definitely return but always be aware when booking that there are stairs to climb if your bags are heavy. we were able to check our heavy bag at the newsagent in Gloucester Green beforehand.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 10/05/2019
This is an old historic building, with quirks and quaintness. Glad to have been able to accommodate 3 persons in the room and bathroom was large and comfortable. The hotel is more like a bed and breakfast, minus the breakfast, with individual rooms with their own character. Our particular room had quite an un-level floor which pitched to one side. Can't do much about that in such an old building, but they could have had a functioning bathroom fan, and some updated furniture. Mattresses were quite uncomfortable. But for one night, given the fantastic location, we made it work. Walkable to everywhere and this was important to us. But if you are looking for luxury and pampering, this is not the place. Linens were crisp and clean, pillow sufficiently plump, blankets available, toiletries were abundant as was hot water and water pressure. WiFi was in working order, portable heater/AC unit was present and in working order, bathroom ventilation fan was broken. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Be aware that there is no elevator in this old building and the staircase is narrow and extends 3 possibly 4 flights. We were on the 3rd floor and carrying large luggage was a little unwieldy. Overall, a simple place to stay, for a good price and even greater location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Brisbane, Australia

Posted 01/05/2019
Great location, very spacious room, bathroom was very modern, clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 26/04/2019
Very spacious room, comfortable bed, excellent en suite. The Buttery is in a great location for exploring Oxford. Staff very friendly and helpful. Stairs to reception, which become very quant and narrow to top floor rooms. You are paying for location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Londin Londin and New York

Posted 18/04/2019
I don’t know how this hotel has four stars. Granted the location is amazing, being right in the centre of Oxford, but we’ve moved to another 4 star hotel 45 mins away and there is a pool, two bars, lounges, restaurant, business centre etc etc. The Buttery has no lift and very very narrow stairs. The receptionist was nice but new. Nobody to help with luggage. Room is very basic, bathroom is fine. No breakfast. One has to get up before 8 to feed the parking meter. So a great place to visit colleges, really great location, but it’s a B&B without one of the Bs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 14/04/2019
Great location; nice rooms. Check in was easy and efficient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Location is great

Posted 14/03/2019 on Hotels
Great location but a little tired. Service could be better i.e. offer a map.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 13/03/2019 on Hotels