Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Ottawa, Canada

Posted 08/08/2019
Vanbrugh House Hotel is right at the heart of Oxford. Very convenient for out of town traveller's by coach or train. Both coach and train stations are within minutes of walking distance. All the local attractions are literally just around the corner... We had a very pleasant stay. Esp appreciate the pleasant staff. I rate it with 4 stars for two reasons. One is the sharp corners of the furniture. I wasn't careful enough and left with a couple small cuts in the legs. The staff did warned me ahead of time. The other reason is the parking if you have a car. Expect to add a few more quids to your hotel cost expectation for overnight parking. You need to park your car at a nearby car park, within 5 minutes walk. The 24hr parking is £34. Not a bad hotel. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 04/08/2019
Comment from Hotel Management
04/08/2019 by Reception Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review. We will be sure to continue providing a better service everyday. Kind Regards, Anusha Gurung
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 01/08/2019
Beautiful old building, tastefully decorated in a great, central location. Located in a pretty and relatively quiet side street with breakfast being catered for next door at Bill’s Oxford. (Excellent vegetarian breakfast and good coffee). We had a standard double (The Link Room) which was a good size and well equipped. Very clean. Good value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Kennesaw, GA

Posted 18/07/2019
Loved our stay at the Vanbrugh House Hotel in Oxford. EXCELLENT location, close to everything, with very spacious and clean rooms (we booked rooms #24 and #26). Bathroom in #24 was very small, similar to a cruise ship with the small stand-up shower, but the bathroom in #26 was much larger. There is no A/C, but they do provide fans for hot days/evenings (most hotels in Oxford either don't have A/C or the A/C doesn't work too well, from what I gathered when I booked the property). Excellent service with Marie at the front desk, in particular, but everyone who worked reception during our stay (Kieran and Sofia). Minor road noise from the side street, but nothing too horrible (and perhaps no noise at all if you have a room at the back of the property such as #26). There are a number of random stairwells, so that might make a difference for someone with issues with stairs. Even with our heavy suitcases, however, we survived. Would stay here again if we return to Oxford.
Comment from Hotel Management
20/07/2019 by Reception Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us with excellent services from Marie, Kieran and Sofia. We will be sure to pass the message long as they would love to hear about your stay. We are sorry to hear about the lack of Air con, and as you have correctly say, we cannot have air conditioning in the hotel due to the property being a Grade II listed building however we are always happy to provide any extra fans or comforts as much as possible and I am very happy to hear all things considered you would be back again. On your next visit to Oxford, please do not hesitate to contact us directly for competitive rates. We will be sure to provide a better service than your previous one. Kind Regards, Anusha Gurung
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Oxford and Mt View, CA

Posted 06/07/2019
Excellent city centre location in Oxford. The best of the boutique hotels for well-appointed rooms, excellent beds for sleeping, windows, and amenities in the rooms. I stay at VBH about 3 times a year, and each time the room is different (they vary in specifics) but always comfortable, excellent, and easy. There is at least one excellent room for people with mobility and others needs. The staff are unfailingly helpful and pleasant. I much prefer VBH to other larger, more glamorous (and expensive) Oxford properties
Comment from Hotel Management
13/07/2019 by Reception Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Mr MarcV, Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time as previously. We will ensure we are proving the best service as always and more. We also pleased to inform you that we will be refurbishing the hotel as well as bringing back the Breakfast room looking into the next couple of months therefore please do come visit us again. We will be happy to provide competitive rates for direct bookings. Kind Regards, Anusha Gurung
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Amman

Posted 04/07/2019
Very nice charming hotel with historical value. Room was nice and good size with modern bathroom. No air conditioning in the room due to regulations. No in site dining facilities, but plenty restaurants around. Excellent location in the middle of Oxford.
Comment from Hotel Management
04/07/2019 by Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tomas, Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to hear you had a lovely stay with us. It is unfortunate we are unable to install air-conditioning in the hotel however we are happy to offer additional fans when needed. Although we do not have a breakfast room, we are excited to announce that we will be re-opening the breakfast room offering local top quality continental breakfast. We hope we have another opportunity to see you stay here with us again so we can provide a better service to the previous stay. Kind Regards, Anusha Gurung
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 03/07/2019
A historic building (300 years old) but comfortably modern in the room and features. Only drawback: no AC on the hottest day of the year.
Comment from Hotel Management
04/07/2019 by Reception Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay here with us. Regarding your comments about no AC, we are a Grade II listed building therefore unable to accommodate an air-con in the room however we are happy to provide additional fans to the room. We hope to see you stay here with us again, please contact us directly for competitive rates. Kind Regards, Anusha Gurung
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Baltimore, MD

Posted 23/06/2019
We booked a superior twin room and when we arrived it appeared nothing like the photos on Expedia. The furniture was tired and ripped, the beds were like dorm room boards, there was water damage and mold on the wall, as well as bleach stains on the carpet. The first hint of the bad upkeep was the tired and cramped state of the hotel lobby. The worst part was the receptionist and General Manager were completely dismissive of our inquiries/complaints and outright rude, to the point that we left and went to another hotel. I would never recommend coming to this hotel. Either save money and go to a hostel or splurge and go to a real hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 15/06/2019
Comment from Hotel Management
22/06/2019 by Reception Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your rating, we hope to see you stay here with us again. Kind Regards, Anusha Gurung
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 10/06/2019
Property is very striking but the room exited to a small private garden which was unusable because of bird mess on the seats and a table with an overflowing ashtray - I don't smoke and the knowledge that people that used the room did soured the experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
11/06/2019 by Reception Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for taking the time to provide us some feedback. Here at Vanbrugh House Hotel, we are always striving to improve ourselves every day. I am sorry to hear that our property did not meet your expectation. Regards to your comments about the small private garden being unusable due to the bird mess, I am quite surprised to hear this issue as our Housekeeping are aware to make sure to clean this area everyday. I will be sure to address this scenario and routine cleaning will be reinforced so that it will not happen again as was such a shame to not be able to use the terrace. Once again I apologise for the inconvenience in this matter. If you are looking to come back in Oxford again, please give us another chance to stay here with us again with more care and attention to our services. Should you like to make a booking,please contact us directly, I will be happy to provide a competitive rate. Kind Regards, Anusha Gurung