Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 10/06/2019
This place was absolutely terrible. We booked a one bedroom studio with city view. What we got was what we can only describe as our worst nightmares coming true. We were late getting in at 8.45 pm and reception closed at 9 pm. We got the key to head to what was expected to be a STUDIO!. We were actually staying in the the basement on ground floor. We were told parking would be an extra $20 per night?. As we entered into our basement that what we were about stay it was obvious that out STUDIO had been converted into budget accommodation and the STUDIO was divided into 4 separate backpacker styled spaces. We had a tiny room, city view was of a tiny wooden trellis space that would fit two people in. The bed was old and sheets were worn out. Pillows were terrible. Throw over blanket was thin/worn out completely covered with stains and contaminated with body fluids. The Bathroom and toilet were small and disgusting. It hadn't been cleaned. The room smelt like sewer piped were blocked. Toilet would flush. There were hand prints over the walls that appeared to be human shit stains. The toilet when flushed made a noise that actually frightened us. The Extra blanket provided for the bed was ripped and should have been thrown out. Room was infested with COCKROACHES we didn't make through the night. Totally stressed out worst night of our lives, TOTAL SHIT HOLE TERRIBLE.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 29/05/2019
Too Costly for that type of room property and service :-(
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 16/03/2019
Pictures are not at all accurate. Weird little room. Pretty gross. Had to stay somewhere else to keep our sanity. Came back on the last day to check on the room before we officially checked out (because we couldn't before because of their cancellation policy) and the toilet had either been used and not flushed or backed up, which then made the room stink. It wasn't just urine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 11/03/2019
Although it’s an older style building the location is excellent as are the views from the large apartment. Easy walk to great shopping, restaurants and famous Cavill ave and beach across the road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 05/03/2019 on Hotels
Left early because room was crap
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 23/02/2019 on Wotif
Aloha has a great location nearly on the waterfront and a minute or so from the heart of Surfers. Its furnishings and fit outs are ancient but everything worked. Those are the only positives. You will be hit up for $20 for car parking - not a great idea. There are signs with rules everywhere. This is indicative of a general stern suspicion which guests appear to be viewed with from the outset. This is annoying when you are a paying customer. If reception had been friendly and the hotel focussed on welcomes rather than warnings, I would possibly go back again and enjoy its dilapidated charm. But the atmosphere with the current staff is uneasy at best and guests are quite distinctly the enemy that has to be dealt with. Perhaps the managers have had an unpleasant incident with guests recently, but if they are going to run a hotel, the number one rule is to be warmly welcoming and friendly to your guests. The reception felt vaguely like the emergency front end of a badly run small hospital. I am also going to keep a very close eye on ensuring that my $200 holding deposit - which could only be taken on credit not a savings account is returned. There are many better places to stay at Surfers even if you have to pay a little more. Aloha should take down at least a third of its silly signs and focus instead on welcoming its guests and ensuring they are comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 22/02/2019 on Wotif
This was not anything the web site said it would be , didn’t mention the parking Fee with two cars was going to cost almost as much as the accommodation. Would NOT stay there again or recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 18/02/2019 on Wotif
I liked the location, the ocean views were stunning and Cavill Avenue was only a block away with all the clubs and retail shops. The beach was only a 50m walk as well. The hotel itself was in such poor condition however. The bathroom mirrors had stains all over them and in one room, the sink was leaking. Even the pool outside was very cloudy and the decking looked like it was falling apart. You had to pay extra for the most ridiculous of things like toilet paper. When we had a change in number of people coming, they just referred us to Expedia whom we booked it with. I had to call Expedia to make this changes who struggled because the hotel was being difficult for them. Expedia ended up giving me a gift card as an apology for not being refunded as much as I should have. When we arrived they asking us to pay $20 parking each night even though wot if/Expedia advertised it as free. Luckily they waved the fee when shown.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 15/02/2019 on Wotif
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 05/02/2019 on Hotels
Mold all over bathroom Celling and $5 to rent and towel plus a deposit also don’t take cash deposits when checking in. Good view of ocean only positive