Ratings based on 918 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from McLean, Virginia

Posted 20 Mar. 2020
My room which was tastefully furnished had a fabulous view of Balliol's Victorian Gothic facade. One thing to be aware of is that the hotel is accessed through very narrow winding stairs--no handicapped access, but the staff were very helpful carrying my bags up and dow.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 28 Feb. 2020
very spacious room, great view and totally central straight opposite Balliol College. Much quieter then expected considering it faces the road!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 24 Feb. 2020
Central Oxford was very handy to the colleges and High Street
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from London

Posted 21 Feb. 2020
Central location is perfect, with 24 hour reception. Room was good size, clean and nice bathroom. The building does have stairs and no lift, which I was aware of. Bed was very comfy and didn’t hear any outside noise. I did hear noise from upstairs, and understand older buildings have thin walls, so bring earplugs. Tea/coffee, water and biscuits are in the room, which is nice after a day of sightseeing. Added bonus is they will store your bag for the day on check out. Definitely recommend and would stay again. There is no choice of breakfast but it’s right in the city centre so plenty of places to eat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 18 Feb. 2020
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Central situation.

Posted 2 Feb. 2020 on Hotels
Very central situation - could not be better. Given a large room opposite reception overlooking Broad Street. Quiet, but I can imagine in the summer could be noisy. Steep narrow staircase to reception and then on to other rooms - may not suit some travellers. Friendly staff. Try cafes in the covered market (5 mins away) for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Central = Noisy at night

Posted 26 Jan. 2020 on Hotels
Very central as I'm not able to walk vast distances these days and this makes it a VERY noisy location at night - partying students and bagpipe playing at 1am! - and upstairs guest seemed to be moving furniture at that time too ... sigh ... Discovered by chance that a lot of stairs were involved staying here but rang the week before and was moved to a first floor room, phew!! Room was comfortable and had nice coffee/tea facilities but bathroom is very tired and in need of some good grout cleaning product! Floor tiles cracked and door handle hanging by a thread!! Cleanliness was ok but not startling, found a bit of plastic just under bed so vacuuming not overly thorough! Grandsons bed sofa was very comfortable, thank you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great little hotel

Posted 13 Jan. 2020 on Hotels
Very clean and comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff, great location. Value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 30 Dec. 2019 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great hotel a d helpful staff

Posted 17 Dec. 2019 on Hotels
My only problem was with the stairs. They were difficult for me with arthritis in the knees at the top of the staircase with nothing to hold onto. However i managed and all staff were very helpful at all times.