Ratings based on 990 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 13 Mar. 2020
Friendly staff and hotel rooms are as beautiful as they are in the pictures.
Comment from Hotel Management
15 Mar. 2020 by Divyang, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience with The Scotsman Hotel. We are delighted to know that you had great stay with us. We hope to welcome you again at The Scotsman Hotel. Thank You Divyang - Duty Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Arbroath, Scotland

Posted 4 Mar. 2020
Hotel well situated for Waverley Train Station, there is an entrance with lift to reception across road from Market Street entrance/exit of station. Good location for exploring the city, a couple minutes walk in either direction to old town or new town. Good sized room, well equipped with ghd hair dryer & straighteners being a nice touch. Beds very comfortable & good quality bedding. Curtains difficult to close fully due to size (floor to high ceiling & wide). Bathroom a nice size but floor quite dusty (could see it on socks/bottom of jeans). Breakfast good but would have expected a range of made to order items (only fried/poached eggs available to order) alongside the buffet offering. Seating quite cramped & close to other people with not much room to manoeuvre between tables. There is currently construction work going on in the hotel which was not advertised. We were out most of the day so it wasnt too bothersome but noise could be heard whilst in the room day time. I would not have booked if i had been pre-warned about the work going on in the hotel. It is always best to be upfront about these things & let the customer decide.
Comment from Hotel Management
4 Mar. 2020 by Gregor Thomson - Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Amy, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the ongoing renovations did not impact your stay too much. If you wish to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me on dutymanager@scotsmanhotel.co.uk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 4 Mar. 2020
Comment from Hotel Management
4 Mar. 2020 by Gregor Thomson - Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anon, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you wish to discuss further or provide more information please do not hesitate to contact me on dutymanager@scotsmanhotel.co.uk.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from New Jersey, USA

Posted 1 Mar. 2020 on Orbitz
The Scotsman wins not only on location but also for heritage and ambience. The hotel is a great repurpose of an Edinburgh landmark and you can enjoy this while being so close to the Royal Mike and the train station. While the lobby is small and lacks grandeur, my room was very spacious and well appointed with modern features and very attractive decor as seen on hotel pics on orbitz.
Comment from Hotel Management
1 Mar. 2020 by Gregor, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for such a positive review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you return soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Florida

Posted 1 Mar. 2020 on Travelocity
Gorgeous hotel! Wonderful staff, amazing breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
1 Mar. 2020 by Gregor, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for such a positive review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you return soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Berkshire

Posted 1 Mar. 2020
Very attentive staff and excellent service. Refurbished rooms are of a high quality. Food great. Cafe Bar area has a good atmosphere but a bit on the chilly side.
Comment from Hotel Management
1 Mar. 2020 by Gregor, Hotel Management
Dear Tracey, Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback! I'm pleased to read you found the staff to be so attentive, and enjoyed the amenities available. I hope you will return soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 29 Feb. 2020
Comment from Hotel Management
29 Feb. 2020 by Divyang Rathod - Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anon, Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Cheltenham

Posted 29 Feb. 2020
Currently renovation works going on on floor 2 which meant the room was disturbed by work noise. However we were moved and overall the rooms are superb and the beds were amazingly comfortable and super king size.
Comment from Hotel Management
29 Feb. 2020 by Divyang Rathod - Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you for your review, I am glad that the team were able to move you when you were disturbed by noise and hope you will return in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 28 Feb. 2020 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
28 Feb. 2020 by Divyang Rathod, Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your 10/10 review!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 28 Feb. 2020
Great location in the heart of the city with very comfortable rooms. Perfect for train travel as Waverley station is close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
28 Feb. 2020 by Divyang Rathod, Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anon, Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to your next visit.