Ratings based on 3,019 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sydney

Posted 15 Mar. 2020
Well positioned, good facilities, but most rooms have no daylight, it's like staying in a dungeon.
Comment from Hotel Management
18 Mar. 2020 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. We are pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us, especially regarding our central city location and facilities. We do regret you found the room to be dark, however and thank you for your feedback. Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 14 Mar. 2020
Comment from Hotel Management
18 Mar. 2020 by gm, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and thank you for your high rating in all areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 14 Mar. 2020
Very relaxing, quiet and tranquil. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
18 Mar. 2020 by gm, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that you had a relaxing experience. Thank you for your high rating in all areas, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 12 Mar. 2020
Very run down in the foyers compared to the surrounding hotels.The bar and restaurant are needs upgrading. The amenities and rooms are looking tired Both areas look uninviting. I wouldn’t stay there again . We had High Tea at the Grand Hyatt across the Rd from the hotel and that was impressive I asked for luggage stands the first night and had to ask again the next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
17 Mar. 2020 by gm, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. We regret your stay with us was underwhelming in most aspects, especially regarding the hotels appearance and the delay you experienced with the luggage stand which we have shared with our team for review. We are pleased to note, however, that we do have upgrade plans in the pipeline for the not so distant future and appreciate your feedback in relation to this. Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Melbourne on this occasion. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Australia

Posted 3 Mar. 2020
Incredibly dated property in a good location. The bed was uncomfortable and the room hadn’t had a face lift since the 80s. Stayed in a Suite room and the bath was tiny and not something you could lay down in. Save yourself the bother and stay at the Hyatt, Sofitel or Westin if you’d like a luxurious break away. Or save yourself some $$$ and stay elsewhere. I won’t be returning here.
Comment from Hotel Management
5 Mar. 2020 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Dom, Warm Wishes from the Stamford Plaza Melbourne and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Although you enjoyed our central city location, we regret your stay with us was underwhelming in most aspects, especially regarding aspects of the suite. We would appreciate any additional information you can provide in order for us to understand your experience in more detail and look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 28 Feb. 2020
Comment from Hotel Management
2 Mar. 2020 by gm, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and thank you for your high rating in all areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 27 Feb. 2020
Comment from Hotel Management
2 Mar. 2020 by gm, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and thank you for your high rating in all areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Bendigo

Posted 24 Feb. 2020
Worst check in we have ever experienced! Checked in on a Sat night. No Valet Person our the front, reception person who checked us in was answering guest calls while checking us in. Told us they had to downgrade us due to capacity of hotel. Took us to our downgrades room. It had been flooded and absolutely stunk. Still had blower sitting in middle of floor. Duty Manager couldn’t explain to me why their reception was taking guest calls while checking us in. Got in another room after a half hour check in. Free parking and breakfast offered (which was terrible also) Will never try this hotel ever again.
Comment from Hotel Management
26 Feb. 2020 by GM , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. We regret your stay with us was underwhelming in most aspects, especially regarding your arrival experience and aspects of the room you have mentioned. We have shared your feedback with our Front Office management team for review and follow up and would appreciate any additional information you can provide in order for us to understand your entire experience in more detail and hope to hear from you soon. Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Melbourne on this occasion. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Geelong

Posted 23 Feb. 2020 on Wotif
Hotel staff very helpful. Only issue was car parking... Only valet option or nearby car parks which are pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
26 Feb. 2020 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Warm Wishes from the Stamford Plaza Melbourne and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, especially regarding our friendly service and thank you for your high rating in all areas and for your feedback regarding parking. Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Melbourne, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Hobart

Posted 23 Feb. 2020 on Wotif
Property in need of refurbish, not value for money
Comment from Hotel Management
26 Feb. 2020 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Helen, Warm Wishes from the Stamford Plaza Melbourne and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Although you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us, we do regret your expectations were not exceeded in all aspects. We would appreciate any additional information you can provide in order for us to understand your experience in more detail and hope to hear from you soon. Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager