Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Lancashire

Posted 3 Feb. 2020
Booked for two nights to enjoy some walking. Stayed in four poster room 14. Could only stay one night as our bed was so uncomfortable we barely slept and suffered back pain. The mattress was so old, cheap and uncomfortably you could actually feel the springs digging into you. Management didn’t seem too bothered about this. No apology and no offer of refund. This hotel has so much potential as one of the best locations in the lakes overlooking Thirlmere. Please, please replace your mattress.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 2 Dec. 2019
Beautiful location. Excellent breakfast. Very comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
6 Dec. 2019 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 22 Nov. 2019 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
24 Nov. 2019 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thanks for leaving a great review we hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 14 Oct. 2019 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
16 Oct. 2019 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thanks for the ten out of ten we are glad you had a fabulous time and hope to see you again very soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Wonderful lakeside stay

Posted 8 Oct. 2019 on Hotels
Beautiful setting with lake views and hiking trails out the back door! Fantasy breakfast and kind, helpful staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
10 Oct. 2019 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back here again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 1 Oct. 2019 on Hotels
Characterful building with lovely gardens and view ver Thirlmere. A little dated for some tastes but
Comment from Hotel Management
10 Oct. 2019 by Jane, Hotel Management
Thanks for the kind review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 9 Sep. 2019 on Wotif
Lovely location down on the lake. Bar was cosy, breakfast was freshly cooked and filling, with just a short walk to the nearest pub for dinner. All around a good venue!
Comment from Hotel Management
11 Sep. 2019 by Mrs H, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 1 Sep. 2019
charming inn on the lake - stunning views and absolute SILENCE. Delicious breakfast .
Comment from Hotel Management
4 Sep. 2019 by Marie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed the tranquillity and the food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Paso Robles

Posted 29 Aug. 2019
Very nice place in a beautiful location! Right in the lake with a restaurant within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
31 Aug. 2019 by Jane Hill, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again very soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 25 Jul. 2019
Comment from Hotel Management
2 Aug. 2019 by Jane Hill, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a review we hope to welcome you back again soon.