Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from newcastle

Posted 24 Sep. 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Very little
Cons: New ownership - the current one has no idea.
Location: Couldn't find what was advertised
Totally disappointing. Falsely advertised and offers nothing the reviews mention.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Newcastle

No go here

Posted 20 Sep. 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Put it under new ownership.
Location: Poor road access - too far to get adequate food supplies in.
There were no meals provided as per the advertised web site. Upon arriving and finding that the restaurant was not functioning and then dished up a heated pre cooked meal that was very sub standed was very disappointing. Contact with the owners who don't live on site revealed the restaurant would be open the following night with a qualified chef as I had organised a group of 10 people for a surprise birthday celebration. The menu provided displayed a large selection of organic meals from entree's to deserts - we were provided with one course of a very ordinary Indian meal that was pre cooked at another location brought in and it was not even heated properly. One staff member refused to serve the meal from embarrassment. The two staff on location are employed to work outdoors, but told to work indoors when they don't have the necessary qualifications to perform these duties. Nor do they have the necessary qualifications to work in a kitchen, prepare meals or serve same. There does not appear to be any proper health and safety checks regarding food. The reception area is not staffed, restaurant and amenities area are not adequately heated, management uninterested in any form of customer service, unhygienic bathroom areas, poor lighting in accommodation and two members of our group suffered tick infestations. Accommodation is very over priced with health and safety issues not taken into account. Overall a total embarrassment to take a group of friends to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not what we expected...

Posted 26 Sep. 2015 on Hotels
Very average service from NEW management(from not finding our booking, not being in the type of accomoodation we were booked in, having to move room the next day and the list goes on). Their main website's not up to date with the changes so we had misled information about what to expect. farm animals probably need to be looked at, the chickens have got no coop/hen house-collecting eggs each morning is to look everywhere since they lay anywhere. We had a decent stay and started to settle and enjoy the surrounds after we move to another room the next day. What was to be a fully relaxing break from the city was not to be, with all the issues faced. Probably will go back again if management sort out and handle these issues effectively. (we aren't the only ones having such problems).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great city escape

Posted 23 Sep. 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Open fire
Cons: Food
Location: Plenty to do there
I throughly recommend staying here. So relaxing and quiet fantastic escape.
5 out of 5
by JOSH

Posted 7 Mar. 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Quiet and beautiful setting (loved the animals roaming around!!)
Cons: Really secluded(which is great) but you just need to be prepared with what you bring
Location: Good views, beautiful and secluded
Facilities: Nice ; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Pleasant;
3 out of 5
by keat from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted 24 Jan. 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Sub-standard accom for pricing
Facilities: Run-down, electrics/lights ; Value: Costly, Pricey, Could be better, no air-con & blinds; Service: Below average; Cleanliness: Tidy;
5 out of 5
by Lauren from Australia - NSW - Newcastle

Posted 18 Sep. 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Location and accommodation
Cons: Cost
Location: Perfect, Wonderful, Away from it all
Facilities: Home away from home, Outstanding; Service: Remarkable, Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spotless;
5 out of 5
by Danny from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted 5 Sep. 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Bushwalking, quiet surroundings, animals within the premise
Location: Away from it all
Facilities: Distinctive; Value: Amazing; Great for kayaking
5 out of 5
by Ben from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted 5 Feb. 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Great customer service, the animals were very friendly, great holiday for a young family
Cons: Kettle had residue and the dirt road would be difficult in foul weather
The bush walks are great, the owners and very active in maintainence and the feed is free and you can have fresh eggs if the chickens have laid some.
5 out of 5
by Carol from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted 2 Feb. 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Beautiful bush and birds and wallabies and farm animals.
Nearby Honeysuckle walk on Barrington Tops is beautiful