Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 25 Feb. 2020
Clean & modern with great location Manager really nice & helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
27 Feb. 2020 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and we appreciate your comments on our clean, modern motel that really is in an exceptional location so close to the waterfront. Customer service is so important to us so we are very pleased we met your expectations. Thanks again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great Location, comfortable and friendly

Posted 17 Feb. 2020 on Hotels
This is a well run, clean comfortable place to stay. Spacious well appointed rooms just meters from the sea. Just wish I had booked a few extra days.
Comment from Hotel Management
18 Feb. 2020 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Hi Ian Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are so pleased it met your expectations. Our house keepers do an exceptional job and it's always a pleasure to show our guests to their rooms. Hope to see you back . Kind regards Felicity
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 10 Feb. 2020
Clean and comfortable. Nice sea view. Would use again
Comment from Hotel Management
12 Feb. 2020 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Hi There Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are proud of our location and the gorgeous sea views. Our housekeeping staff are awesome and always present our rooms so well. Thanks for staying with us. Kind regards Felicity
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 9 Feb. 2020 on Hotels
Holiday trip, this place made our whole trip worthwhile on the last night...fabulous
Comment from Hotel Management
12 Feb. 2020 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Hi Gavin Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are so pleased it was so memorable for you. It's always a great way to finish a holiday as Akaroa is such a laid back, picturesque town. Kind regards Felicity
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 5 Feb. 2020 on Hotels
It was Beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
12 Feb. 2020 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Hi Mark Thank you so much for the great score you gave us, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are so lucky to live in such a beautiful place. Kind regards Felicity
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 4 Feb. 2020 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
4 Feb. 2020 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Hi Vincent Thanks for the 10 out of 10, great you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Felicity
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 2 Feb. 2020 on Hotels
The host was very friendly and helpful. The location is great with views of the bay, the room was large so plenty of room and a good sized balcony. Only issue was that the pillows too bulky and hard otherwise loved our stay and would definitely come again
Comment from Hotel Management
4 Feb. 2020 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Hi Deborah Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed it. We do try to have a big and more flatter pillow but they may have been swapped about. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Kind regards Felicity
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 26 Jan. 2020 on Ebookers
We had a very large room with sofa and an armchair as well as a dining table and chairs and a kitchen area. We were on the first floor with a fantastic view to the beach and sea. Hotel was on the Main Street so everything was just 5 minutes away.
Comment from Hotel Management
30 Jan. 2020 by Penny, Hotel Management
Great that you enjoyed our fantastic location by the sea and our spacious rooms. We are certainly so close to restaurants, shops and hotels so everything is mere minutes away. Thanks for staying with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 22 Jan. 2020 on Wotif
Top spot! Highly recommended. We didn’t need to drive, walking distance to restaurants and beach. One of the best accommodations we have stayed while travelling South Island.
Comment from Hotel Management
22 Jan. 2020 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Great review thanks so much and we are very proud of our beautifully appointed rooms, our team who deliver top service and our proximity to the beach, restaurants and shops. Thanks for taking the time to write such a stellar review of the Akaroa Criterion Maison Par Quay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 12 Jan. 2020
Comment from Hotel Management
18 Jan. 2020 by Felicity and Murray, Hotel Management
Thank you for the superb ratings you gave us on your review! Our staff are such an important part of the whole experience here at the Akaroa Criterion and we appreciate that you have acknowledged them with a 99% rating!Thanks again.