Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 07/05/2019
Stunning property, with spectacular views if you're on the second floor. Walking distance to the harbour/restaurants. Incredibly friendly staff, very welcoming and ensured we were well set up for the weekend stay. Very clean property!
Comment from Hotel Management
09/05/2019 by Penny, Hotel Management
A brilliant review for our motel the Akaroa Criterion and we thank you so much for writing all about the important features of our property and also commending us on our customer service which is the cornerstone of our success!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 28/03/2019
Comment from Hotel Management
03/04/2019 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to rate us! Hope to see you again one day at the Akaroa Criterion Motel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Big Canoe, Ga.

Posted 05/03/2019
Very nice property in a convenient spot. Felicity is great. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2019 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Excellent review and we are pleased we passed the test with flying colours. Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our well positioned property and our customer service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 17/02/2019 on Hotels
Good location
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2019 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and we appreciate your feedback. Our location is sure a big plus as we are so close to cafes, restaurants, the beach, supermarket and shops.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from London

Posted 14/02/2019
Really good accommodation situated 50m from the bay. Great location and a great place to sta. Akaroa is a beautiful place and well worth a visit
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2019 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Thanks Ian for taking the time to review the Akaroa Criterion and pointing out our proximity to the beach! Akaroa is sure a gem and a hidden secret really however many people do find this beautiful town and often it is the highlight of their trip which is wonderful to hear.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 29/01/2019
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2019 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review us!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 28/01/2019 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2019 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback and the 10 out of 10! We love being at the top of the order which shows we are doing lots right. Thanks again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 18/01/2019 on Wotif
Had a little studio with private courtyatd and own access to the main street. Clean and comfy and good value for money. Recommend the bar opposite with sweeping views
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2019 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review the Akaroa Criterion and we are pleased you liked your studio with private courtyard. We are so close to the waterfront and bars and cafes and the views are pretty magical alright.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Dunedin

Posted 11/01/2019
Nice big room which opened up onto the street only meters from the bay. Great location and views
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 10/01/2019
room much too hot for sleep. fan in room nice, but still hot.