Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Al Moerke from Rapid City, SD

Posted 31/07/2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was close to mall, Mt. Rushmore Civic Plaza - very convenient
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

Great place to stay

Posted 31/07/2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoy this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is wonderful (full hot breakfast), the pool is very large and the kids like it. It is kept a bit on the cool side but other than that we have no complaints and keep coming back to this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from KS

Convenience for travelers

Posted 31/07/2014
Pros: Hot buffet breakfast, close to interstate.
Cons: Close the old motel, don't mislead travelers into getting one thing & giving them something crappy.
Location: About 30 min drive to Mt. Rushmore & other attractions.
We booked this hotel because of location & the pictures on the website looked okay. The main building of Ramada was decent, looked like it had been renovated not too long ago, hence the inside pool. It's next to highway for easy access, and alot of close dining spots. But what was dissappointing was when we checked in, thinking we would be in the hotel building that was pictured, we were given a room in a MOTEL building adjacent to it, which was a run down old building that looked like the original Ramada motel. We were tired, and the room was okay, so we stayed. The complimentary breakfast by the Diner restaurant inside the hotel was pretty good, hot breakfast buffet. Some rooms faced the pool inside where breakfast was served each morning, so I saw someone suspicious went to a room and knocked several times, then took the DO NOT DISTURB sign down & stuffed it in their pocket and then told the maid coming down the hall to let her in. Caution to travelers, don't put do not disturb signs up as thieves and burglars know that room is checked out and maid always has master key, in which the maid should have told them to go to office to get another key. To be safe, we just took all valuables with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great staff

Posted 31/07/2014
The A.C. was not working when we checked in but the staff did a great job of getting us to a room that did have working A.C.. they were always friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Sharon from Okc

Posted 30/07/2014 on Hotels.com
The room was dirty, the phone did not work, the tv didn't most of the time, there was a razor left on the floor in our room, our room was upstairs interior and there was no elevator or anyone to help with our luggage. The pool area was loud late at night. Breakfast was aweful! I would never stay here again!!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarah from Oregon, WI

Could be much better

Posted 30/07/2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were friendly and the location is convenient to I-90 for traveling, but the condition is not to today's standards especially for the Ramada name. The breakfast provided was really wonderful, more than I expect when getting a free breakfast in the AM. They need to upgrade the rooms because they are sub par. The other economy hotels we stayed while traveling through SD had better amenities and the rooms were in better condition. The door in the room had a gap at the deadbolt and there was open air coming through, made it kind of chilly when waking up in the cool morning. The shower wasn't maintained to a good standard. They need to stop looking for cheap fixes which is what I see and just start renovating these ancient rooms. It makes you feel like you are in an unclean environment. The indoor pool area looked nice, very nice clean common area for people to lounge. It was OK for staying the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jhgf from Uhyt

Posted 30/07/2014 on Hotels.com
It was a decent stay primarily because we were busy and just needed a place to sleep. The hotel needs some updating! Pretty old! Breakfast was nice! Better than most! Overall satisfied with the amount paid, would have been disappointed if I had to pay more!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by eric from mitchell sd

Posted 30/07/2014 on Hotels.com
the first few nights were great then three buses showed up and filled the rooms and the ac went out. I talked to the front desk and they said they were working on it. well bout 2 hours later and still nothing so they sent us a fan. but don't worry it was nice and cozy at the front desk and the restaurant it was just our room that was unbearable. then they dident even say anything when I was checking out not even sorry bout that or nothing. I think next time we will stay some where else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chuck from Bismarck, ND

Pleasant, affordable stay

Posted 29/07/2014 on Hotels.com
The overall quality of the stay was great - good location (centrally located), affordable (stayed 4 nights), and friendly staff - front desk was very welcoming and helped out in every way. Only issue we had was lack of a 'good' WiFi signal as we were in the annexed building not part of the main hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller

Posted 29/07/2014 on Hotels.com
Site said there would be free breakfast and there was not