Ratings based on 845 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from KS

Convenience for travelers

Posted 31/07/2014
Pros: Hot buffet breakfast, close to interstate.
Cons: Close the old motel, don't mislead travelers into getting one thing & giving them something crappy.
Location: About 30 min drive to Mt. Rushmore & other attractions.
We booked this hotel because of location & the pictures on the website looked okay. The main building of Ramada was decent, looked like it had been renovated not too long ago, hence the inside pool. It's next to highway for easy access, and alot of close dining spots. But what was dissappointing was when we checked in, thinking we would be in the hotel building that was pictured, we were given a room in a MOTEL building adjacent to it, which was a run down old building that looked like the original Ramada motel. We were tired, and the room was okay, so we stayed. The complimentary breakfast by the Diner restaurant inside the hotel was pretty good, hot breakfast buffet. Some rooms faced the pool inside where breakfast was served each morning, so I saw someone suspicious went to a room and knocked several times, then took the DO NOT DISTURB sign down & stuffed it in their pocket and then told the maid coming down the hall to let her in. Caution to travelers, don't put do not disturb signs up as thieves and burglars know that room is checked out and maid always has master key, in which the maid should have told them to go to office to get another key. To be safe, we just took all valuables with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great staff

Posted 31/07/2014
The A.C. was not working when we checked in but the staff did a great job of getting us to a room that did have working A.C.. they were always friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Vermillion SD

Mediocre in Rapid City

Posted 28/07/2014
Pros: Good location. Easy access from the interstate.
Cons: The attitude of the front desk staff left a lot to be desired. On the other hand, Housekeeping was terrific.
Location: Easy access to the Black Hills.
Overall, not bad. The room was clean and the amenities were okay. One of the entry doors was non-functional, so I had to carry my luggage a long way after a long drive. And the desk clerk could not or would not give me a receipt upon check-out; she said I would have to get it from Expedia. So I won't know for sure what it cost me until I get my credit card bill. So overall, not that good, either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from North Dakota

Needs complete renovation.

Posted 28/07/2014
Pros: The location was close to the I 90. The continental breakfast was good.
Cons: Needs a good cleaning and replacement of furniture.
The carpets were filthy and stained throughout the hotel. All the fabric chairs were stained and filthy. Rooms smelled like mildew.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Missouri

Posted 28/07/2014
Cons: Either the address from your site is wrong or my gps messed up. My gps took me the wrong way after exiting the highway. I found it, but.....
Location: Right off the highway.
Decent, clean hotel, nice bed. Stayed two nights. The only problem was the hair dryer in the room didn't work. Customer service tried to find one and couldn't the first morning, but had me one by the end of the day. Too late, but what to do? We had an appointment so had to make do! I also didn't really like staying in the separate building from the main one, but there really wasn't anything wrong with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Polk City, Iowa

Good location to everything we wanted to see.

Posted 28/07/2014
Pros: Loved the amazing breakfast that was served each and every day. Saved us on eating bills. Good rate for the motel. Loved playing pool.
Cons: The hot tub was out of commission for the first couple of nights stay because they were working on it but then the last day is was up and running.
Location: Kind of center to everything we wanted to see.
On check in the room was 95 degrees, they were having problems with air conditioning. They moved us to downstairs pool side room which was much cooler and temperature was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller

Ramada- Rapid City,S.D.

Posted 28/07/2014
Pros: Free Buffet breafast. Indoor pool area.
Cons: Replacing small pillows with full size ones. Insect problems with outside rooms.
Location: Recommend Bear Country, Reptile Gardens and Mcdonald's Farm which are close by. Half hour drives to Mt. Rushmore or Deadwood.
Air conditioning wasn't working the first night but moved us to the indoor area the next day. Indoor rooms by pool area were more desirable than outside ones,although noisy until after 10PM.Hotel is under new management and staff seemed eager to please. Had free buffet breakfast each day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Memphis, TN

Meh

Posted 26/07/2014
Everything feels old, outdated. No elevators -at least that we could find - to our room, so we had to struggle lugging heavy suitcases up the stairs. When we arrived, I booked an additional night, and the front desk made us check out and check back in good that extra night - so we had to pack up, lug everything up and down the stairs, and unpack an extra time. The desk turned out to be wrong, but we didn't find out until it was too late. Great breakfast each morning, but not great enough to compensate for the old room and hassle of bad directions causing a lot of extra work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 26/07/2014
Cons: Air conditioner did not work correctly.
Clean room. Many attractions nearby. Friendly staff.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by travis from Billings mt

Posted 25/07/2014 on Hotels.com
I stay in many different hotels. I have not seen a more run down place in years. The bed covers are stained. The carpets are dirty and stained. The bathroom is small and the fixtures are rusting and falling out of the wall. The beds are at least 10 years old. If you stay "poolside" you have no window. Only a glass wall facing into the pool area. It is like you are an animal on display. The breakfast is okay. Some of the tables for breakfast are very old and rickety. The kids really were excited about the huge indoor pool and hot tub. The pool is not HEATED! The water was ice cold. We stayed four nights the pool was ICE cold every day. I saw no evidence of a way to heat it. The staff and housekeepers were great, however that doesn't make up for the experience. I will never stay here again. Run from this place!