Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scottfrom New Zealand

Nice clean hotel close to CBD

Posted 30/06/2014
Pros: The room was modern and very nice. Central location to be able to walk to old town and cbd. Short taxi ride to Pocitos.
Cons: The way the heat pump is positioned to warm/cool the room.
Location: Close to CBD and to the ramblas (great for a run or walk). Easy walk to downtown. Easy cab to beach areas or to areas to hire a bike.
We are unfortunately non Spanish speakers. The staff only spoke Spanish and this made a few things a little challenging, however they made a great effort to assist us with what we were looking for. The rooms are very nice, however the heating for our room was in a box on the roof so thought the room was warmer then it truly was leaving the room a couple of degrees cooler than was desired, but otherwise was an excellent room. Location is a few blocks south of the cbd and close to a few ok restaurants. On the weekend it is very quiet in this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Really clean and decent hotel for this price

Posted 15/05/2014
Overall we found this hotel a good one. Rooms are clean and comfortable. However, one big drawback is that at least our room didn't have any window and I think most rooms don't have any windows the way it has been designed but on the corridor there is enough ventilation. Staff don't speak English at all which can be a bit of problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 16/03/2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

Surprise nugget in the heart of town

Posted 10/02/2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderfully comfortable and affordable, right in the heart of Montevideo. Staff is very helpful and the room was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by rkfrom nyc

Nice place

Posted 25/01/2014 on Hotels.com
Nothing special, small tight clean rooms. AC. Didn't eat breakfast but looked good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by spyrosfrom greece

Very good location, very friendly staff

Posted 22/01/2014
Location: Very good location, u don t feel unsafe at anytime of the day
Don t worry if you don't speak Spanish , it's very easy to communicate with the staff of this hotel , because they care.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A. Petersonfrom Arizona

Very comfortable and convenient location

Posted 15/06/2013 on Hotels.com
My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Sur. Everything was great. The room was very spacious and accomadated our large family of six. The location was very central, and we were able to reach everything at a close walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paigefrom Dallas, TX, USA

Great Place to Stay in Montevideo

Posted 21/05/2013
We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Sur. The staff was very friendly and more than willing to help from directing me to a place to have my laundry washed to a recommendation for a great empanada restaurant to arranging for a taxi pick up upon my departure. I would definitely stay here again. It felt almost like a bed and breakfast more than a hotel, and I really liked that!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller

Room for 4 is very small.

Posted 02/05/2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel price is not so low and breakfast was not offered. We stayed in 4 and the space was not enough. The location was very nice, though.